русская версия
Deutsche Version
Versione Italiana
Versión Española
Nederlandse Versie
Property in France Portal
Version Française

Centre Geography

The Centre region is stretching on 39,151 sq km and accounts for 1,842 communes within the 6 following departments: Cher, Eure-et-Loir, Indre, Indre-et-Loire, Loir-et-Cher, Loiret. It is the 4th French region in terms of area and the relief has been shaped by the Loire; the longest river in France. The landscape is made of plains and plateaus of different kinds:

  • The Champagne berrichonne is a chalky plateau southeast of the region.
  • Touraine in the southwest is made of clayey plateaus.
  • The Brenne area in the Indre department is nicknamed 'thousand ponds lake'.
  • Beauce is a very fertile farmland dedicated to crop culture.
  • Cuestas on the edge of Massif Central have limestone plateaus and clayey depressions.
  • Sologne is a forested area characterized by forests and 12,000 hectares ponds.

More documents, info and useful contacts on Centre geography:

Return to Centre Home Page

       Facebook Twitter RSS